Lightened Up Eggs Benedict

And I’m back to the big world of blogging!  Decided to change things up a bit though and I’ve relocated from blogger to wordpress.  I think this will give me more freedom in creating a layout I like!

For my sister’s birthday last weekend, we decided to scope out the One of Kind Show.  Okay, I admit I did kind of drag her there as I was itching to buy a new piece of art for my walls.  I love original art (and its a bonus to be supporting a local artist!)  This is what I had the pleasure to bring home this year!

Now I’ll have sweet dreams of beaches every night :)

So spring is in the air here, and that means shedding some winter pounds so I can fit into my clothes again! I’ll be including lots of “light” recipes in the upcoming months.  I should start counting points again on Weight Watchers so I’ll try to include WW points as well!

What could be more decadent for breakfast for than Eggs Benedict?  Not too many things!  I must confess I avoided even trying Eggs Benedict until a couple years ago as I knew how bad it was for you!  I should have kept avoiding it, but alas, after watching my sister eat it so often while out for breakfast, I broke down and had a bite.  No going back now!

At least my sister was kind enough to make me her light version of Eggs Benedict from her favorite Looney Spoons cookbook!  Definitely not the same buttery taste, but the creaminess and tangy-ness definitely make it a great “summer is around the corner and I can’t fit into my shorts” substitute.

It’s Almost Summer “Lightened-up” Eggs Benedict (7 WW points)

adapted from Crazy Plates by Janet and Greta Podleski

serves 4

4 slices of bacon (or 8 slices of peameal/Canadian bacon)
4 eggs
1/4 cup low fat mayonnaise
1/4 cup low fat sour cream
1 tb honey mustard
1 tb lemon juice
pinch salt
pinch cayenne pepper
2 english muffins, split and toasted
tomato
fresh herbs

Cook bacon until crisp. Remove from skillet and keep warm. Poach 4 eggs. While your eggs are cooking, whisk together the mayonnaise, sour cream, mustard, and lemon juice in a small pan. Season with salt and cayenne pepper. Heat over low heat until warm. Do not let the mixture boil. Place 1 muffin half on each plate. Top with 1 slice of bacon (or 2 pieces of peameal bacon each). Feel free to add veggies of your liking – I like tomatos! Place one egg on top, then top with the sauce. Sprinkle with fresh herbs as desired (I used some thyme I had). Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Lightened Up Eggs Benedict

Leave a Reply

